What made me fall in love with The Kite Runner | Mindless Reverie

Very few books have successfully been able to make me cry like a baby. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini happens to be at the top of that petite list. I had picked the book up randomly from my college library a couple of years back and was so captivated by  the anguished tale of Hassan and Amir that I devoured the book in just two days! It is one of those books that I keep going back to no matter how many times I’ve read it and know exactly how the story goes.

Blog 3 image 1

Source

But it wasn’t just about the beautiful portrayal of Afghanistan and its culture, something that had never captured my curiosity, let alone attention, before. Nor was it about the heart wrenching before and after imagery of the forlorn nation through Hosseini’s impeccably woven narrative. The one bit that makes me go around recommending this book to just about everybody I meet is the soulfulness of the story. It is astonishing how the book makes you feel so deeply for Hassan and Amir and  makes you experience a plethora of emotions till the time you turn the last page.

This gem of a book has a number of brilliant quotes hidden between its pages. The prime purpose of this post was to share some of my favourite quotes from the book. I’m listing down a couple of them here.

“It may be unfair, but what happens in a few days, sometimes even a single day, can change the course of a whole lifetime…”

“For you, a thousand times over”

“And that’s the thing about people who mean everything they say. They think everyone else does too.”

“It always hurts more to have and lose than to not have in the first place.”

“I wondered if that was how forgiveness budded; not with the fanfare of epiphany, but with pain gathering its things, packing up, and slipping away unannounced in the middle of the night.”

“Not a word passes between us, not because we have nothing to say, but because we don’t have to say anything”

“Time can be a greedy thing-sometimes it steals the details for itself.”

“It’s wrong what they say about the past, I’ve learned, about how you can bury it. Because the past claws its way out.”

“War doesn’t negate decency. It demands it, even more than in times of peace.”

“There are a lot of children in Afghanistan, but little childhood.”

“I’m so afraid. Because I’m so profoundly happy. Happiness like this is frightening…They only let you this happy if they’re preparing to take something from you.”
“Life goes on, unmindful of beginning, end…crisis or catharsis, moving forward like a slow, dusty caravan of kochis (nomads).”

Do let me know which one’s your personal favourite!

Leave a Reply

