Vegetarian food that goes beyond salads – Part 1 | Mindless Reverie

Once upon a time (no, I promise this isn’t a fairy tale), I used to be a hard core meat eater. Chowing down any form of edible meat that was placed in front of me, I took great pleasure and pride in proclaiming my love for meat. Well, that was me a year back.

This March marks my first year of  turning vegetarian. Exactly a year ago, I decided to stop eating meat and that’s exactly what I did. Stopped eating meat. Why? Let’s get into that some other day.

It’s fairly easy to be a vegetarian in a country like India, to be honest. But having a family that loves its meat, I did go through an ordeal. Of sorts. I’d pester my mum to cook something, ANYTHING other than the usual veggie curries. Since I like cooking myself, I would look up recipes and try them out  while my mother would go for work. You know how Indian mothers are! They’ll taunt you for not lending a helping hand in the kitchen and then shoo us away when we actually offer help! Anyway, let’s not drift away from the point of this article.

The point of this article, and a number of other articles that I’ll be putting up in a while, is to share with you guys a number of vegetarian recipes that I personally enjoyed eating and fortunately didn’t burn down the house while cooking them.

Here’s the first one:

Spinach Enchiladas

Blog 6 Image 1

Source

Ingredients

 

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic and onion; cook for a few minutes until fragrant, but not brown. Stir in spinach, and cook for about 5 more minutes. Remove from the heat, and mix in ricotta cheese, sour cream, and 1 cup of Monterey Jack cheese.
  3. In a skillet over medium heat, warm tortillas one at a time until flexible, about 15 seconds. Spoon about 1/4 cup of the spinach mixture onto the center of each tortilla. Roll up, and place seam side down in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Pour enchilada sauce over the top, and sprinkle with the remaining cup of Monterey Jack.
  4. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until sauce is bubbling and cheese is lightly browned at the edges.

Aaaannddd tada!

I’ll be back with some more recipes pretty soon. See you around!

Original recipe source

Leave a Reply

