Vegetarian food that goes beyond salads – Part 2 | Mindless Reverie

Keeping up with my promise and my one-year-of-vegetarianism theme, I’m back with another super easy recipe. Now, this one happens to be my all time favourite because of how simple yet comforting it is to whip it up. Can you guess what I’m talking about? I’m sure you can’t. I don’t know why I’m being unnecessarily vague and trying to build up faux suspense.

Anyway, the dish that I’m talking about is the humble yet amazingly yummy *drumrolls* FRIED RICE! When I’m too bored, fried rice comes to my rescue. When there’s some left over rice and random veggies lying around, fried rice ,yet again, comes to my rescue. It is an underrated, underappreciated hero.

Blog 7 image 1

Source

Here’s a super basic yet super delicious recipe that I usually follow, add or subtract ingredients as per your liking :

Ingredients

  • vegetable oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 3 c. leftover cooked white rice
  • 1 tsp.  salt
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas
  • 1/2 c. frozen corn kernels
  • 3 eggs, scrambled
  • 2 scallions, chopped

Directions

  1. In a large skillet over medium heat, warm 1 tbsp oil and cook garlic, onions, and carrots, 4 to 5 minutes. Increase heat to medium-high, fold in rice and 1 tsp salt and cook until lightly toasted, 3 to 4 minutes. Add peas and corn and mix until warmed through.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small non-stick skillet over medium-low heat, scramble eggs. Fold eggs and scallions into fried rice and serve immediately.

(Again, you could add a number of sauces like soy sauce, chilli sauce, vinegar, etc to give it a zing. Go wild with your fried rice combinations!)

That’s it. No really, that’s all you have to do. Do try this one out and let me know how it turned out!

Original recipe source

One thought on “Vegetarian food that goes beyond salads – Part 2 | Mindless Reverie

Leave a Reply

